Thank You to Our SI Leaders

SI President Sharon Fisher, a member of SI/of the Langleys in Western Canada Region (SIA), served through a tumultuous time for Soroptimist—leading the global organization during the COVID-19 pandemic. While the years surrounding our 100th anniversary were meant to be filled with celebration and face-to-face gatherings, President Sharon helped the organization pivot and still maintain celebration and connection during a new virtual world. She instituted webinars to help members come together, learn and support her President’s Appeal—Road to Equality. She also hosted the SI 100th anniversary event that brought together members from all five of the Soroptimist federations to reflect on our bright past and our brilliant future. We thank Sharon for her service and look forward to following her on-going efforts to build a better world for women and girls.

At the same time, we welcome the 2021-2023 SI President Maureen Maguire. Maureen is a member of SI/Portadown in Northern Ireland (SIGBI). Learn more about Maureen and her President’s Appeal, Opening Doors to a Brighter Future.

In addition, one other member of SIA will be completing her position with SI. Beverly Bucur will end her term as the SI Director of Advocacy. She has led the program and advocacy team since 2017. She will continue her work as an SI Advocacy Advisor, an SI President appointment.

Kathy King of SIA will continue her role as the SI Treasurer through December 31, 2021.

We also welcome SIA member Lee Ann Cochran as the President’s Appeal Coordinator for the SI President’s Appeal, 2021-2023.

The SIA Voting Representatives for 2022-2023 will include Tina Wei Kang Pan and RoseMary Reid. Our thanks to Karen Cromer Johnson who ended her term on December 31, 2021. Kazuko Morita will be SIA’s Authorized Representative to the SI Board. Our thanks to Penny Babb who served in this role in 2021.

Wanda Price will continue her role as the SIA Representative to the SI Advocacy Committee through December 31, 2023. We thank Dana Martin for her role as the SIA Representative to the SI President’s Appeal Committee (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2021) and welcome Robin Davis as she takes on that role through December 31, 2023).


Previous Article


Next Article

This site uses cookies. By continuing to visit this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.